gemina

to read the blurb about this book on goodreads, click here.

to read my review of the first installment of this series, click here.

 

Let me start out by saying that the hype surrounding this series is real and that everyone needs to buy into it. I will be the first to admit that I will not read books right away if they are super hyped up because I don’t want to be disappointed. I wait until there are a healthy number of reviews, both good and bad, so I can weigh out my options. Then I make the decision to read it or ignore it.

Don’t be like me. Don’t wait. Go to the nearest bookstore and pick up Illuminae and Gemina. It is worth however much they cost. (I was given Illuminae as a birthday present and I picked up Gemina at the library so I don’t really know what the prices would be.)

Without further delay, let me jump into the review. This book takes place after the events of Illuminae on the ship, Heimdall. We have Hanna, the captain’s daughter and Nik, part of the House of Knives drug cartel. They are the most unlikely pair to find themselves in a life or death situation. BieTech terrorists invade and take over the station with nothing but bad intentions. Hanna and Nik must fight to survive.

The wonderfully unique thing about this book is that it isn’t a narrative, per se. The story is told through chat logs, emails, video surveillance and other interesting ways of communication. I know that might put off a lot of people but honestly, it makes the story way more interesting. You get different stories from someone besides the main characters.

Hanna was at first okay for me. She was kind of snotty and I didn’t like how she led Nik along. I enjoyed her journal entries though and her drawings were really well done. I also thought it was really cool that she was into martial arts. Girls in martial arts don’t get enough rep in books, I think. As the story progressed, she grew on me more and more. She wasn’t just a snobby rich kid. She was a warrior, determined to live by any means necessary.

Nik was cool, for lack of better words. He reminded me of Ezra, from the first installment. I did enjoy the back and forth Nik and Hanna had. The added Russian mob story was really very insightful. It gave Nik more character and who doesn’t love a good background story. I really felt bad for him that he was in the situation that he was in due to family. Also, his cousin Ella was amazing! Everything she said was just pure gold! I could read a whole book about her and not get bored!

One of my favorite things about this book and the series in general is that even though it is stuffed full of science and computer lingo, it’s not overwhelming. The characters dumb it down for you so you are able to keep up. Even someone like me, who knows very little science, was able to keep up and remain completely enraptured with the story.

this series is everything. go read it. 

xxlacy.

One thought on “gemina

Leave a Reply

