throne of glass

find the Goodreads synopsis here.

 

I did it. I finally decided to buy into the hype that is Sarah J Maas or SJM for short. I didn’t know what to expect. She is the author that elicits both love and hate. I have read reviews that praise everything that she has ever written, regardless of whether it was garbage or not. I have also read reviews that criticize every single word and were sometimes bordering on unnecessarily harsh. I will be completely honest and say that I didn’t know what to expect. I think deep down, I really wanted to like this book.

Now I am glad that I gave SJM a chance and picked up Throne of Glass. It was a very fun adventure full of sassy conversations and gladiator style fighting. This book did reminded me a lot of The Hunger Games. Now, I don’t know which one was written first but regardless it was still good. This book was different enough where it didn’t feel like a cheap Hunger Games knock off.

The plot is pretty simple for the most part. There are 23 criminals of varying degrees of terrifying and deadly. (That is where it reminded me of Hunger Games) They have all been chosen to fight for a chance to be the King’s Champion. What this means is that they will have to kill whoever the King says so, no questions asked. They will be paid handsomely for it as well.

Celaena is chosen by the prince to compete to be the Champion. It’s either win or be forced to continue to work the salt mines of Endovier until it killed her. Celaena is known very well for being one of the best assassins in the kingdom. She has every chance of winning this…if she can stay alive.

I found that Celaena was hot and cold for me. I enjoyed her wit. She was clearly taught how to best people with her mind. But she was also so irritating. The beginning of this book consisted of her telling the reader that she could kill all the guards and the prince and everybody in the room before they had a chance to blink. That got really old. If she was so damn good, why didn’t she do it then? Luckily, she grew on me otherwise I probably wouldn’t have finished the book.

I also didn’t mind the love triangle that was pretty obvious. I actually don’t have a lot of experience in reading about love triangles. The books I pick up just don’t have them. I don’t know if that is good or bad. Regardless, I actually enjoyed it. I think it was needed to help Celaena become more confident. Clearly she was broken more than she cared to admit from the salt mines.

The friendship between Nehemia and Celaena was refreshing as well. Nehemia, with her questionable reasons of why she was in the King’s palace in the first place, helped Celaena be an actual human and not just a mindless killing machine. Celaena was so in her training of being an assassin that I think she forgot how to just be a girl.

I think the hype may be a little much but this series has some really awesome potential. I really liked the wit of the conversations. SJM really does know how to write dialogue, which I can only imagine is a very tricky thing to master. I was told that she wrote this when she was 16 years old. If this is true, that I take my hat off to her. I couldn’t write this coherently when I was 16. I do recommend this book. Just be patient with it and don’t let Celaena ruin it for you. She gets better, I promise.

 

 

xxlacy

2 thoughts on “throne of glass

  1. Pingback: march wrap up | a ravenclaw library

  2. Pingback: crown of midnight | a ravenclaw library

Leave a Reply

