my favorite genre // part 1

hello there!

Because I am slacking on reading and haven’t finished a book in a few days, I thought I would make a post about one of my favorite genres. If this goes well and you guys seem to like it, I will do more and can even stretch it out to favorite authors or favorite tropes.

I will start with a genre that if very near and dear to my heart: historical fiction. Believe it or not, it wasn’t my first love even though I am a massive history buff. I think what got me started in the historical fiction genre was Danielle Steel’s book Echoes which is set during World War II. After that, I decided to try out that genre. I went to Philippa Gregory, who has a lot of books about the Tudors. She has a whole series about King HenryVIII. That is where my love for historical fiction really blossomed. I now soak up the works of Alison Weir and Allison Pataki.

I have read a few books during different time periods. I recently read And I Darken which is based during the Ottoman Empire and is a Vlad the Impaler retelling. I wasn’t super into that but that was because I had issues with the main character, Lada. I also read The Star Touched Queen which is a Persephone/Hades retelling and I really enjoyed that.

I know that there is a lot of timidness when it comes to historical fiction. My advice is find a book that is from a preferred time period or even one that you know just a little about. Do you like American history such as the Civil War? Find some books from that time period. Do you have some knowledge on Russian tzars? Find a book that takes place during that time. The possibilities are endless!

The beautiful thing about historical fiction is that it can also have multiple genres. An example of this is the Kingfountain series. It has elements of fantasy involved (which I don’t like all that much but am slowly getting into) but since it has monarchs and that kind of stuff, I really enjoyed it. I’m sure there are others but that is the one that really stands out to me.

Of course there will be those that simply cannot stand historical fiction. And that is okay with me. Some genres are really not for everybody. As long as you respect that others may love it, then continue to do you and read whatever you want.

I hope that with this little post, you learned a little bit about me.

 

What are some of your favorite genres and why do you like them? 

 

xxlacy

Leave a Reply

