the diviners

to read a blurb about this book on Goodreads click here.

 

I went into this book not knowing what to expect. I picked it up because I have read other works by Libba Bray and I really enjoyed them. I had seen this book floating around on Goodreads and there seemed to be a general census of good things to say about it. I decided to give it a shot even though I don’t care for reading about books based in the 1920’s.

What I learned is that I have to stop judging books based on their setting. This book was a thrill! We follow the life of Evie, who has a very special gift. She tends to drink and party too much and because of that, in order to save her reputation, her parents send her off to live with her uncle in New York. Her uncle runs a museum that is the home of all things creepy and supernatural. Evie aides her uncle in attempting to solve a murder case with the help of her special gift and a few friends.

Evie, as a character, was hot and cold for me. Her wit and spunk had me laughing out loud but then she would do something selfish and it would just turn me off. She tended to speak and act before thinking, which often landed her in trouble with her friends. As the story progressed, I started to understand why Evie is the way she is. She just wants to be loved. I get that. I mean who doesn’t want to be loved?

This book also contained a lot of side characters with their own stories and histories. We have Sam, who also has a special gift. He ends up working with Evie and her uncle. And I also ship the crap out of Evie and Sam. I will go down with that ship! We have Memphis, who has a special gift. I didn’t really connect to much with him. I thought he was kind of whiny, but that’s just me. There is Theta, who has a gift but I’m not really sure what it is. I hope to hear about her more in the second book. There is Uncle Will, who I think is hiding a lot of things about his past. We also have Jericho, who is quite the interesting character but I didn’t really connect with him either. He’s too broody for my cup of tea. That is quite a bit of characters. But I found them easy to keep track of.

Overall, I liked the story. The way people talked in the 1920’s is so funny! I had to re-read sentences because I couldn’t believe some of the things that were said. Cat’s pajamas? Elephant’s eyebrows? Like what? I totally and utterly recommend this book if you are into the supernatural and supernatural-ish things. Just don’t mind Evie too much. She gets pretty likable.

 

 

xxlacy

One thought on “the diviners

  1. Pingback: march wrap up | a ravenclaw library

Leave a Reply

