crown of midnight

to read a blurb about this book from Goodreads, click here. however, do not click on it if you haven’t read the first book, Throne of Glass, because it’s kind of spoilery. 

to read my review of the first instillation, Throne of Glass, click here

 

This book continues right after where Throne of Glass left off. Because I don’t want to spoil the book for those that haven’t started the series yet, I will just talk about the characters and my feelings about the speed at which the plot happened instead. So this will be a little bit like my Crooked Kingdom book review. I hope you enjoy it.

Like I said, this book takes place after ToG (Throne of Glass for those that don’t know initials for books). I was pretty excited because the ending to that book was really solid and gave CoM a lot to work with. But tith CoM, I felt like the book was a lot slower., which sometimes I like depending on the book. It took up until a little over half way from some sort of major action to happen. There was little bits of foreshadowing but nothing super major. When the action did finally happen, it happened so fast it made my head spin. I just wish there was some sort of middle speed. You know, where things happen more and more steadily instead of slooooow and then supercrazyfastaction.

Celaena was still very hot and cold for me. I did like that she showed more and more emotion and she didn’t feel bad about it. That shows me that she is growing…somewhat.  I forget that she is only 19 years old. So many things have happened to her that I expect her to be older. I liked that she finally showed off her assassin skills that she bragged about in the first book. It was cool to see just how much of a badass she was instead of her telling us that she was a badass. But she still acted like a brat. in events that really required her to be an adult. There is a certain part in the book where she proves she is still very much a child. It made me want to rip my hair out.

Chaol. I don’t really know what to say about him. It was annoying that he stifled his feelings for so long about Celaena. I mean he saw red when Dorian even looked at her. It’s like chill bruh, he just glanced at her.  But I was so glad when he finally expressed those feelings to her. I just hope he doesn’t let Celaena ruin his friendship with Dorian. I prefer Celaena with Chaol but a relationship shouldn’t come between friends. It will be interesting to see what happens to him in the next book.

Dorian has grown on me a little bit. He was incredibly irritating when he pined for Celaena. He told himself multiple times that he would let her go but in the next breath, he was back to pining. I understand that losing someone you love is hard, but he never really had her, in my opinion. He is starting to grow up, though, and accept what is going to have to do one day. He is standing up to his dad, the King, which is good. That man has far too much power for his own good.

As much as I was thrilled that my library finally had this book, I couldn’t help but feel meh. I think I was expecting something more. I don’t know. I can’t quite place my finger on what exactly it is I’m feeling. I’m hope that the next book will be a little more fast paced, especially with what we find out in the very last page. Overall, though, it was a really solid book.

 

xxlacy

Leave a Reply

