magic review/ why I’m giving danielle steel a break

to read a blurb about this book from Goodreads, click here

note: this will probably be a longer review as I have a lot to discuss. 

 

This book has made me sad. It has made me realize that I might have read too many Danielle Steel books in my life and it may be time to put her on hold for a while. But before I talk about that, I need to review the actual book that made me so sad.

I will admit that I didn’t really read what the book was about. When it comes to Danielle Steel, I basically just pick it up and read it, no questions asked. It’s always been that way for me and even after my break, I will probably continue to do it because I am a creature of habit.

Had I read the actual synopsis of this book, I probably would have passed it simply for lack of interest. It starts with an explanation of the White Dinner, where we meet our characters. Basically this is a secret dinner that you have to be invited too, where no one knows where it’s actually going to be held. You are required to wear white everything and bring your own meals, tables, and other things like that. It’s held in front of different Parisian monuments or buildings every year. You bring everything you need and then take it all down when done all at certain times like clockwork. It started when a navy admiral and his wife wanted to celebrate their anniversary and it became a tradition ever since.

I know that I make it sound kind of lame but it actually was a cool concept. I will have to do some research to see if it actually is a thing. Unfortunately, that was the only cool thing about this book. We follow the lives of two couples and two singles in the rest of the book after the White Dinner and until the next one. There is Jean Philippe and his wife Valerie, Gregorio and his wife Benedetta and Chantal and Dharam, who are the two singles.

The characters were okay. I didn’t really connect to any of them. Jean Philippe and Valerie were the typical power couple. They each had powerful jobs and had the drama that usually accompanies those types of jobs. I couldn’t really relate to them. Gregorio and Benedetta were alright. I like their story, simply because of the drama that unfolded that was more interesting than the other drama that happens to the other characters. Benedetta wasn’t an idiot either unlike Chantal. She was my least favorite because of some seriously poor decisions she makes throughout the book. Dharam was okay but his character was never really fleshed out and that sucks. He was Indian and I would have loved to see what he did in India.

This book could have been so much better. The character models were there and had the potential to be better and even great. Some of the side characters that are introduced didn’t make sense to me either. Sometimes, I think Steel puts in drama and characters where they aren’t needed. Danielle Steel can write characters well. Even if they make dumb decisions, I still support the characters because I was so emotionally involved with them. This just wasn’t the case. I didn’t connect with any of them.

It’s time for me to give my beloved author a break. I have a couple other of her books that I own that I will read because I need too but other than that, no more for now. It hurts me to say that because Steel is such a beloved author for me. But…it’s time. When my break from her is over, I will attempt to be more selective in what books I pick of her but I’m pretty sure I won’t follow it. She had some really great books in 2016 (like The Prodigal Son. I suggest everyone read that.) and it’s disheartening for me to read a few of her books this year and not really like them.

But this also is an opportunity for me to flesh out new genres that I have been meaning to get too, like fantasy and science fiction. I’m excited but will also miss this author. Plus, I think my TBR will be grateful to be slimmed down finally.

Have any of you ever felt this way about a beloved author? What did you do to remedy the situation? 

 

xxlacy

4 thoughts on “magic review/ why I’m giving danielle steel a break

  1. I have to say I haven’t read Steel yet but I can relate in a way to how you’re feeling.
    I felt like that with J.K. Rowling, for instance. Despite all the awful reviews, I decided to try The Casual Vacancy.
    I was so disappointed! It’s not like I hated it but it obviously felt nothing like Harry Potter (as many had warned me it wouldn’t be) and I couldn’t connect with the characters, either. It was all just a mess.
    But it was my fault for going in thinking I would love it and think it would give me the same feelings HP did.
    But like you said, this is a great opportunity to go and find new books to read. Who knows, maybe you’ll find a new favorite author too 🙂
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: april wrap up/life update | a ravenclaw library

Leave a Reply

