the lost symbol

to read a blurb about this from Goodreads, click here

 

My heart is happy but exhausted. Dan Brown, you sure know how to keep someone on the edge of their seat in anxiousness. Whew! I feel like I need a drink after reading that. There were times where I seriously didn’t think I was going to make it. Now that I have settled down a little bit, I can write a proper review. Lord knows my Goodreads one is probably a mess.

This book takes place a few years about the events of the da Vinci Code. Robert has been summoned by his long time mentor, Peter Solomon, to give a speech in DC about the Freemasons. What he finds when he gets there is an invitation. To find the Ancient Mysteries left hidden by the Masons and a race to save his mentor.

This book had a lot going on. It had a more extensive history of the Freemasons, as Peter Solomon was a Grand Master. I learned the Masons aren’t always the bad people we think they are. It’s funny how Christianity can skew many different things into negative light, simply because it doesn’t align with what they believe in. I’m not trying to bash Christianity. This is just my thoughts on what I see everyday.

On the other side, this book talks about Noetic science. What the book says it is is that our thoughts actually interact with the physical world, effecting change all the way down to the subatomic realm. Basically Mind over Matter.

Let me give an example. For those that have seen Supernatural, you will remember this episode well, as it makes the boys think about how many lives they’ve sacrificed to do what they do. Dean is electrocuted, giving him a massive heart attack that leaves him with months to live. Sammy, desperate to save his big brother, finds a faith healer. Dean is called up to be healed by the healer. The healer touches him, prays along with the congregation and Dean is healed. Katherine, Peter’s sister and Noetic scientist, would have been able to capture the energy from the healer to Dean with a special camera, basically proving that healers can ACTUALLY heal. That is really is a matter of Mind over Matter.

I know that it sounds odd, the Freemasons and Noetic science. But it really does come together in a beautiful way that isn’t forced at all.

I had more written down but that is all I am going to say about this book. With these kind of books, it’s best to experience it blind. Like I mentioned previously, it’s a treasure hunt. You wouldn’t want a treasure hunt spoiled, would you?

 

fun fact of the day: Hollywood decided to skip this movie and go straight to Inferno. I read the IMDB website and it was said they put this movie on hold because of how similar it was to National Treasure. I have only seen bits and pieces of National Treasure and I don’t think it’s the same thing but I could be wrong.

 

xxlacy

4 thoughts on “the lost symbol

Leave a Reply

