april wrap up/life update

April was another slow month for me. I tried to catch up from my March book slump but I think I was still in the effects of the slump. I only read 12 books and as you may or may not remember, I need to read at least 17 every month to keep up with my Goodreads challenge. I’m now 7 books behind schedule. I’m just going to have to come to terms with the fact that I will be behind for a while.

In other somewhat non book related news, from the months of May to September (if everything works out), I will be…how do I put this…on a hiatus but not? That makes no sense. Basically what I am trying to say is that I will be reading but not as much.

Let me explain.

I work with adults with varying degrees of physical and intellectual disabilities. I work the overnight shift, which means I get to a lot of free time. I have been using that free time to read and binge watch YouTube videos. However, it’s time for me to get my life back on track. I’ve been “stuck” for a year and a half. What started as a simple half year break from school turned into me not being able to get myself going to due to anxiety and possible depression issues.

I’ve decided to take my life back and study for a test that will help get going. It’s called the GRE. Basically it’s an adult ACT/SAT. I want to get my doctorate in Psychology. To do this, I need to go to a big school and get my Masters. Most schools require this test for anything over a Bachelors. I think it’s just a test to make sure you have enough aptitude or something like that.

Anyway.

I need to study for this test. It’s $200USD and I don’t want to do bad. So I’m going to be using my time to study for this test. This means that my reading time will be cut back. I’ll only be able to read for about 3 hours every night. I am an incredibly fast reader but not fast enough to finish a book in 3 hours.

In order to make up for the potential lack of book reviews, I will find book related topics to discuss on here. If any of you have any fun ideas or websites to give me fun ideas, please let me know! I am up to doing a lot of different things.

Moving on.

Here are the 12 books that I have read this month. Some will be linked to posts on this site while others will be on Goodreads. I don’t put all my books that I have read on here, just the ones that have brought out a lot of emotion or lack of emotion in me. As always, my favorites will be bolded. Scythe is in red because it is currently my favorite book of the year until something else (if something else does) takes it’s place.

 

Thank you for reading this. I know that it is a bit longer then what I normally write. I also want to thank you for your patience. I know that it is kind of odd for a brand new blog to do a semi hiatus but hell, that’s life. It knocks at really inopportune moments. I’m really awkward so I’ll just end this post here and go back to finishing Inferno. 

 

xxlacy

3 thoughts on “april wrap up/life update

    • Thank you for your comment! Normally I am one of those that waits until the hype dies down before I read the book because I’ve been burned by books that had such hype. But I promise the hype surrounding it is totally worth it! The world building is incredible, like nothing I’ve read so far. The reimagination of the Grim Reaper is also incredibly intriguing. I highly recommend it for sure! Let me know what your thoughts are if you decide to read it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

