the girl with the dragon tattoo

to read a blurb of this book on Goodreads, click here. 

trigger warnings: rape and incest

 

This book has been in TBR pile for years before I even joined Goodreads. I had seen bits and pieces of the Swedish movie and had seen a trailer for the American version of it. I had friends that told me that this book was pretty good and I think even my dad recommended it to me at one point. Needless to say, this book was a constant in my life.

I regret wasting so many years. But at the same time, I don’t think young me could have handled what this book had to offer.

This is about Mikael and Lisbeth. Mikael is a financial journalist who has just been convicted of libel for printing a false story about a big financial mogul. Lisbeth works as a freelancer for Milton Security, gathering information about different people for a variety of clients. Mikael is tasked to find out what happened to Henrik Vanger’s brother’s granddaughter and to do this, he enlists the help of Lisbeth. What Mikael and Lisbeth find is so much worse than they could have imagined.

Lisbeth’s POV was my favorite. She was very interesting and I couldn’t help but feel nothing but pity for this poor thing. Life had dealt her a pretty crap hand. The way her mind works is incredible, though. Everything she does, she measures out all the possible consequences and determines the best course of action. It has to be exhausting living life like that but that is what is best for her. I could easily see myself as friends with her.  I hope that in the next book, we get more of a backstory with her. We only got a taste but I’m dying for more

Mikael’s POV was decent. I was incredibly intrigued with the task he was assigned to do. Mikael had some flaws for me, which nearly prevented me from fulling love this book, even though I shelved it under favorites on Goodreads. I’m a weird creature. Some of the choices he makes were dumb and he lived life like he was constantly in fear, which got old especially after having Lisbeth’s POV. He complained of things that he could easily change but chooses not too. But he has enough good qualities about him that I still want to read the next book.

The plot itself is very slow burn up until about the last 20%. But I think with this particular book, slow burn works well. It’s a mystery surrounded in mystery. We learn everything from Mikael and Lisbeth so we are left to only speculate what is going to happen. There were several times where I thought I had figured it all out but Stieg Larsson said NOPE and completely turned the tables on me. I thin mysteries are slowly becoming a very preferred genre with me.

To address the trigger warning I mentioned above: there are two different rape scenes. Each are very graphic so please read at your own risk. The incest is mentioned in passing several times towards the end but it’s not as descriptive. Still, please read at your own risk.

 

note: I haven’t seen the movie like I mentioned above but I will plan on watching it very soon. As soon as I do, you can sure bet that there will be a review about it. There is a strong chance that I will watch the Swedish version even though I don’t speak a lick of it. That version of the movie is more likely to follow the book because Hollywood can’t read. I’m looking at you, director of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. 

 

xxlacy

One thought on “the girl with the dragon tattoo

  1. Pingback: may wrap up | a ravenclaw library

Leave a Reply

