my favorite genre // part 2

I decided that since I haven’t finished a book in a while, I would do another my favorite genre post. I think this helps you guys get to know me better and what to look out for in my reviews.

Today, I think I will talk about YA. Yes, I know that YA is a very broad genre so I’ll narrow it down to YA dystopian. For those that don’t know, dystopian is (according to Google) relating to or denoting an imagined place or state in which everything is unpleasant or bad, typically a totalitarian or environmentally degraded one.

What started my journey into dystopians was the Hunger Games. Super cliche, I know. Basically everyone starts out their dystopian journey with the Hunger Games. It’s like a staple in the YA world. Regardless, the book was recommended to me by my dad, who doesn’t read YA a whole lot. So that is saying something about the power of that book.

I think what I like best about the dystopians is the different world and how people live in it. I like reading about the underdog that rose up from the bottom to attempt to take out the terrible government. Katniss and Violet (from the Gender Game series) are the two that really stand out for me as those underdogs that are fighting for what is right.

Another reason I enjoy YA dystopian is I love information. I love learning about every aspect of the totalitarian government. I love learning about how they got there. Those info dumps that most people don’t like are the things I generally love.

If you are looking into starting your dystopian journey, I would immediately suggest The Hunger Games and The Gender Games. The Gender Games is like the Hunger Games meets sexism/ sexist inequality. They are both very fast paced novels and you will easily breeze through them.

I hope you guys enjoyed reading a little bit about one of my favorite genres. What are some good YA dystopians you enjoy? I would love to hear about them so I can add them to my TBR list.

 

xxlacy

2 thoughts on “my favorite genre // part 2

Leave a Reply

