beautiful creatures

to read a blurb about this book from Goodreads, click here

 

Ahh, it was so much fun to get back into the Caster world. Ever since Harry Potter, I had been looking for a magical world to suck me in. And I found it with this incredible series. Fun fact of the day: I was actually looking for the novel Beastly. Both covers are black with fun and pretty font. So I got confused but man, what a happy mistake.

We follow the lives of Lena and Ethan, even though the POV is entirely first person Ethan. Ethan is a typical boy living in Gatlin, a small town in the South. He feels like he doesn’t fit in with Gatlin. He is highly intelligent and loves to read. He even has a map of the US with markings from all the books he has read.

Then Lena blows into town and Ethan’s life is never the same.

The entire Caster world is really cool. I don’t want to give everything away because where is the fun in getting things spoiled. However, I’ll explain it a little. There are two types of Casters: Light and Dark. Light Casters have Light powers such as seeing into the past or healing. Dark Casters have Dark powers such as being a Siren (the power to control) or being a Shapeshifter. Both this powers don’t have to be considered bad but in this book, they are.

Lena’s family is unusual for a Caster family. In her family, when you turn 16, you are Claimed. Which means you will either be Light or Dark. In normal Caster families, you get to chose. In Lena’s family, you don’t get a choice. You either become Light or Dark. So Lena is terrified of becoming Dark because her cousin Ridley went Dark. They were very close, basically sisters. She doesn’t want to turn into Ridley, which is understandable. But turning into Ridley is the least of Lena’s problems…

Overall, I think this is an incredible start to a pretty incredible series. The Caster world is amazing and the love story between Ethan and Lena make me smile like a loon.I can’t wait to reread the rest of this series and get lost into the world.

 

 

note: There is a movie to this book. I have never seen it but I have heard mixed reviews on it. If it ever ends up on Netflix or Hulu, I’ll be sure to watch it so I can review it for you guys. 

 

xxlacy

4 thoughts on “beautiful creatures

  1. Pingback: may wrap up | a ravenclaw library

Leave a Reply

