the night circus

to read a blurb about this book on Goodreads, click here

 

This was an interesting book to say the least. I do see why people are into magic realism. It really is a wonderful genre. But it’s not something I would want to read all the time. This book was something special, though. It was beautifully written and flowed perfectly. There was just the right amount of mystery and the right amount of…well everything. It reminded me of A Star Touched Queen. with the beautifully flowing writing.

I was slightly confused at first because this book starts with two different periods of time that slowly merge together. Once I figured that out, the book became a lot easier to read. I actually really liked that aspect. It’s definitely something that you don’t see a whole lot of. I do wish that the game was explained a bit more thoroughly, however. I wanted to know everything about the game and why it came into existence. But I’m one of those people that insists on knowing everything.

As beautiful as this book was written, I found it hard to connect to the two MC’s, Marco and Celia. I was rooting for them as a couple but separately, I just couldn’t connect with them. They just seemed kind of two dimensional. Again, maybe it’s a me thing. I prefer character driven stories than plot driven stories. And I’m not entirely sure if this was a character driven book, a plot driven book or neither.

It sounds like I didn’t like this book but I really did. I can’t get over the writing and how wonderful it flowed. I just found it really hard to connect with the characters, both the MC’s and all the side characters. There were kind of a lot of side characters so I got slightly confused. It also didn’t help that I started the book really confused because I didn’t read the chapter beginnings closely, which was my own fault.

I will say this though, it was SO MUCH MORE BETTER than Caraval. I mean, it was a 100 million times better. This book didn’t lie to me for the sake of lying, which I will forever be salty about. And even though I didn’t connect with the characters, they were so much more better what Caraval came up with. I mean seriously, why is Caraval even a book? I usually don’t rag on a book so hard but it upsets me because Caraval had a lot of potential and it just flopped.

Overall, this book was good. I liked the writing and I liked the concept. The Night Circus sounds like a badass circus that I would love to attend. The descriptions even between the “chapters” made me want to find the nearest circus. I just couldn’t connect with the characters which is why it has four stars instead of five.

 

xxlacy

5 thoughts on “the night circus

  1. I absolutely LOVED The Night Circus. I enjoyed the aspect of merging time, as opposed to several other authors who enjoy changing between perspectives and narrative time, which often times confuses and hinders the actual story and plot.
    For me, the magical realism that penetrates the novel offers such a groundbreaking experience and allows us to enter this totally whacky and mysterious world where we are constantly surprised and waiting for the next chapter to find out if Marco and Celia will finally be together.
    Great Post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought the time merging thing was so cool (once I realized that was happening!). It’s def something I haven’t seen.
      After reading this book, I think I want to keep trying with magical realism. I had truly thought Caraval ruined it for me but Night Circus saved it. I love your insight about magical realism. It certainly makes me want to try more.
      Thank you for your lovely comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

