harry potter series review

to read the blurb about the Sorcerer’s Stone on Goodreads, click here.

to read the blurb about the Chamber of Secrets on Goodreads, click here.

to read the blurb about the Prisoner of Azkaban on Goodreads, click here.

to read the blurb about the Goblet of Fire on Goodreads, click here.

to read the blurb about the Order of the Phoenix on Goodreads, click here.

to read the blurb about the Half Blood Princes on Goodreads, click here.

to read the blurb about the Deathly Hallows on Goodreads, click here.


This series essentially defined my childhood and continues to define my adult life. I base every book I read on Harry Potter. I often wonder what House a main character would be. For example, I think Kaz from Six of Crows would totally be a Slytherin. I own so much Harry Potter stuff, it’s ridiculous. You can say that Harry Potter consumes my life on a daily basis. I often talk about Harry Potter so much, my family gets rather annoyed with me.

Everybody always tells me that Harry Potter is a kid’s book and that it isn’t even that good of a series. Those nay sayers can shove off. Harry Potter is so much more than a children’s book. It contains tons of adult themes such as war, distrust of the media, death, etc. You could pick any book and find at least five different adult themes. It teaches children, teenagers and young adults so much about the world and it’s nastier side.

Words fail me when it comes to expressing my love for this series. I know that this probably sounds incredibly silly but Harry Potter got me through some really rough times. I was picked on a lot as a kid. I was just extremely socially awkward. I have anxiety but it was undiagnosed for a very long time. I didn’t know what was wrong with me or why I couldn’t act normal. As a result, I got kind of lonely because nobody could deal with me and how clingy I would become. Thank god I found a few friends that understand me and understand why I am the way I am. Without them, I would be lost.

I don’t know how I acquired the series. All I know is that I somehow got them because I saw the Chamber of Secrets at a friend’s house. I asked her what the movie was and she told me. I was instantly intrigued, once I found out it was an entire book series, and that started my obsession. These books kept me company and soothed my mind when it was racing. I knew that if I had a rough day, Harry Potter would be there, waiting for me.

This series also taught me that my awkwardness was okay. Hermione and Luna were a big part of that. Hermione taught me that being smart and a girl was completely okay. You can love learning and still wear dresses. Being a nerd was okay and people will still love you. Luna taught me that weirdness is fine. There is someone out there that will think you are perfect, weirdness and all.

I truly think that everyone should give this series a try. The first couple of books are a bit middle grade so they may seem simplistic. But it’s just building up to something so much greater, darker and amazing. I mean, man, I’m struggling for words right now. This series just means so much to me. I want everybody to love it as much as I do.

 

 

After all this time? 

Always.

 

xxlacy

Leave a Reply

