fantastic beasts and where to find them

to read a blurb about this book from Goodreads, click here

to read my review on the movie with the same title, click here.


I love that Jk Rowling gave us a couple of textbooks from the world of Harry Potter. It really brings the story more to life because you actually get to read what the trio read. I am still waiting for Hogwarts, a History but until then, I will live with this book and Quidditch Through the Ages.

Out of both texts, I prefer this one. It reads very easily and is organized alphabetically. The beginning prologue, which explains how the Ministry of Magic rating system came to be and other information like that, is a tad on the boring side but textbooks can’t always be fun and exciting. I do wish that there was more information about each creature and maybe even some pictures. The movies only show a few of the creatures, like the ones that play a major part in the story. However, I did like the little notes and drawings that the trio wrote in them. It gives the book a more personalized feel so it’s not so much a textbook but an extension on the original series.

I really can’t complain though. This was highly informative and I’m glad that it was released to us Muggles. Yes, I know that I am American and should use the term “No-Maj” but honestly, Muggle sounds better.  It really is a must have for the die hard Harry Potter fans but it’s also a good book to have just in your library as well because the cover is so dang pretty!

As far as how this compares to the movie, you almost can’t compare them. The movie took the creatures from the text and put them into a situation. It would be fairly difficult to try and make a movie just from this text. The only way I can see this happening is if they did like an infomercial type of movie with Newt (or Hagrid) showing us each character. I could even see it like a documentary that is often on Animal Planet or Discovery Channel.

I am pleased with both book and movie. They each contribute something wonderful to the Harry Potter world. With the movie, we are introduced to Newt, a wonderfully adorable and awkward man and is the predecessor for Hagrid. In the book, we learn a little more about the creatures in the series and just how dangerous/not dangerous they are. Each has their own merits and I cherish both of them.

 

xxlacy

3 thoughts on “fantastic beasts and where to find them

  1. Pingback: july wrap up | a ravenclaw library

Leave a Reply

