quidditch through the ages

to read a blurb about this book on Goodreads, click here


This will be a pretty short review because the book itself is only 114 pages. That is tiny, really. But for such a tiny book, it packed a lot of information into. I’m impressed, really, because a lot of books that try to do that just get overwhelmed. It may help that it’s not a “novel” by the standard definition.

Anyway. This book is mentioned in the Harry Potter world but it’s not the standard textbook. It’s a free reading book that is offered in the Hogwarts library. Hermione actually gives a copy of this book to Harry at some point as a gift and he reads it a lot, so it’s pretty popular.

Quidditch is a very popular sport in England. Harry, himself, was a Seeker along with his dad. Ron played Keeper, while the Weasley twins played Beater. Other Weasley members played Quidditch as well. And I believe that Ginny played Quidditch for the Holyhead Harpies for a brief time after her time at Hogwarts. Needless to say, this is a popular sport.

In this particular book, we get a brief overview of how Quidditch came to be along with the brooms, teams and assorted Quidditch moves. I mean, that’s it. I don’t know what more I can say about this book without actually writing it on here. I will admit, though, when I first read the book, I didn’t care for it as much as Fantastic Beasts. I actually found it kind of slow and boring. I have no idea why I thought that because I gobbled it up the second time around. Must be age.

I really do recommend picking up this book, especially if you are die hard Harry Potter fan like I am. It adds to your collection, plus if you got the red cover like I did, it’s add charm to your bookshelf.

 

xxlacy

3 thoughts on “quidditch through the ages

  1. Pingback: july wrap up | a ravenclaw library

Leave a Reply

