orange is the new black TV show review//part 3

to read a blurb about the show on IMDB, click here


As promised, here is the review for the TV show of OITNB (Orange is the New Black). Like I mentioned before in a previous post, I haven’t finished the entire season because…well I’ve been slacking. I have to be in the mood to watch TV shows/movies. Otherwise, I’m all about that Overwatch grind. silently curses Hanzo mains under my breath.

Anyway, I’ve seen the rest of the seasons and I feel that I could accurately review the show alongside the book.

I’m just going to come right out and say it. The TV show and the book are almost nothing alike. I mean it. It’s like they only used Piper, Pennsatucky and Larry’s names and that’s it. There is literally nothing tying the show and book together besides that. I wish I was just being overdramatic but alas, I am not.

Now I understand why they changed the show up a lot. Piper’s actual adventure in prison is not nearly as exciting as what the show Piper goes through. I mean a secret panty business?! How would that even work in actual prison??

As much as I enjoy the show, I think Netflix missed an opportunity. They could have showed just how hard prison was by following Piper’s actual story. Instead they made prison seem like a fun place to be. Yes, there are moments in the show that bring out the seriousness but in all reality, they made prison to be a fun gathering with a bunch of girls. Prisons actually had to change the color of their jumpsuits because people were buying the orange ones. Yeah, I know.

I’m making it sound like I hate the show. I don’t. I love it! Red is my favorite character and I adore the relationship between Alex and Piper. The dialogue is always on point and it really is a great show. I just wish they had chosen a different name for it or something. Because it’s certainly not the OITNB that I had read.

But if you guys have Netflix, I really suggest checking it out. There is 5 seasons right now so you can easily binge watch them. They are also an actual hour long which is plus. So go check it out and let me know what you think.

 

xxlacy

One thought on “orange is the new black TV show review//part 3

Leave a Reply

