arc review: the third kiss

to read a blurb about this book on Goodreads, click here

I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Expected publication: August 7


You would think that a love curse and the friends to lovers trope would be over played in the YA world, right? Well you are wrong when it comes to this book. And for the record, the friends to lovers trope is my favorite. Because the two characters obviously have something that made them friends in the first place. Being lovers is an added bonus and eliminates that awkward getting to know you stage. You all know what I’m talking about. It’s just soooo awkward. 

Moving on. I really liked this book. For a while there it was touch and go for me. I generally liked Jonas and Cora as MCs but I wanted to smack their heads together for pretty obvious reasons (once you read the book). Both were solid in their own way and I’ll talk about that later in the review. By the way they bickered and snapped at each other, you would think that they didn’t really like each other. But then again, I can be a nasty woman to my friends sometimes.

Jonas was a solid MC. I really like the word solid today, don’t I? I liked his point of view a lot. He was very smart and willing to admit when he messed up. He let us into his true feelings and you really felt the brokenness he hid so well. He was clearly affected by things in his past and my heart went out to him. But sometimes, he was a bit pig headed and really wanted to smack the crap out of him a few times.

Cora was the same way for me at times. It was awesome to see a girl interested in science and fighting but she was still girly. Yay for fellow nerd girl recognition! But she was also very stubborn to the point where I wanted to hit her as well. It was her personality, though. That was just how she was. She, too, was affected by her past, not as drastically as Jonas, but still. Trauma is trauma.

The concept of the love curse was very well done. I’ve never heard of the one that was used in this book but I’m sure there is some basis of truth. I might do some more research about it, just to satisfy my curiosity. To add more props to this book and author, the secondary characters were well done. They weren’t there for the sake of being there. They were a part of Jonas and Cora’s life in a very important way. I mean, overall, I couldn’t ask for a better start to what I’m sure will be an awesome series!

 

xxlacy

One thought on “arc review: the third kiss

  1. Pingback: weekly wrap up 08/08/17 | a ravenclaw library

Leave a Reply

