the tbr book tag

For those that don’t know what tbr means, it means to be read. As in, those mountains of books on your Goodreads shelf that you just pretend doesn’t exist while adding more and more to the pile.

Yeah, you all know what’s up. hides the baskets and totes of books in the closet. 

Anyway, I wanted to do a tag but couldn’t really think of one to do. So I searched book tags on WordPress and found one on a blog by Kristin at Kristin Kraves Books. Super clever name, might I add. So I decided why not give it a whirl.

As always, props to the original creator. Your hard work is appreciated in creating this tag.


How do you keep track of your TBR pile? 

Ha..ha…ha. Funny joke. say that in a Yoda voice. I got that from Game Grumps. Okay, honestly, I keep track using good ole Goodreads. I don’t know how I ever managed without that website. I have discovered so many books, much to my wallet’s dismay, on there. Now, when relatives ask me what book I want, I can whip out my iPhone and tell them! Easy peasy! Until I have to dig through hundreds of books to find that one book or I don’t have any service and can’t look at Goodreads. #firstworldproblems

Is your TBR mostly print or ebooks?

To be honest, I have no idea. Maybe 10% are ebooks from Kindle Unlimited and the rest are probably print. Honestly, I don’t know. I assume that most of the books on there can be read in either print form or ebook form. I prefer print but I have gotten more comfortable with ebooks.

How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

This tag is full of funny jokes! Okay, so here is my process. I have a small basket where I put as many of my print books as will fit. I pick the first two and rotate as needed. I have a tote I unearthed (but we won’t talk about the five other totes I’ve found) and a basket full of thrift store finds. When I’m done with the book, I have a small box that I put it in. Once the box is full, I start the process of organizing the books to fit into a tote. I then create a label and a list of books in the tote.

As for my ebooks, I have Overdrive. What I did, a while ago, was added every single book from my TBR as I could find. I added them to a wishlist. I start at the very beginning and place holds. Once I get a hold, I read it, take it off the wishlist when finished and rate it.

I read one print and one ebook. There are times where I have to read two ebooks at once because Overdrive gives me a few at a time. I compensate by reading as many print as I did ebooks. It’s not perfect but it works for me.

A book that’s been on your TBR the longest? 

World War Z by Max Brooks. I know that there were other books before that but I think I deleted them. I’ve been wanting to read this since I read the Zombie Survival Guide by the same author. One day I will read this book. Only so I can compare the movie to the book, which I’m going out on a limb here and saying that they probably are not the same.

I also have this weird obsession where, once I start reading an author and I like the first book, I have to read as many of their books as I can. If they don’t have very many, I feel compelled to read what little books they had. Even if I didn’t like the first one. I don’t know why.

A book recently added to your TBR?

The very latest book I have added is called The Sinner by Petra Hammesfahr. I think it was recommended by Goodreads because I read the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo because that book is written in another country, like this one was. It sounds pretty good and it is being made into a mini TV series with Jessica Biel, so I mean it has to be good, right?

A book on your TBR strictly because it has a beautiful cover?

I will literally add just about any book because it has a pretty cover. For this particular one I chose This Darkness Mine by Mindy McGinnis. I love simplicity as you can tell from my blog. The plain whiteness, the cut and the lettering just made this book really stand out for me. Plus, the synopsis sounds like it could be a really chilling tale. There aren’t a lot of books about a twin that had been absorbed in the womb. That right there is chilling.

A book on your TBR that you never plan on actually reading?

This is an interesting question. Because I mean, don’t we add books to the TBR to read them? Regardless, I chose Minecraft: The Island by Max Brooks. He is the author of the Zombie Survival Guide and World War Z. I only added this book for my sister. She’s huge into Minecraft and I wanted to remember this book so I could get it as a gift for her. I told her about it and she sounded really excited about it. #bestbigsisterever

An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for? 

Holy cow, there are sooooooo many books I’m beyond excited for. I think it would have to be the third untitled book of the Dark Crowns series by Kendare Blake. I haven’t read the second one yet but if the second book is like the first one, I’m sure I’m going to love it regardless.

A book on your TBR that basically everyone has read except for you?

To be completely honest, there are a lot of those. I’m one of those readers that waits until the hype dies down and then reads it. Nothing ruin a book more than the hype. For this particular question, I chose The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. This series is still pretty hyped so that’s why I haven’t touched it yet. Plus, I have some books that I want to read more. Because it’s not that it doesn’t sound good, it’s just…I’m not super interested in it.

A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you?

Surprisingly, I don’t get a lot of recs. I only have about 20 in my recs shelf. But I think for this one, I will choose Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I had a lot of people tell me to read it after the horrible book that was Caraval. I enjoyed Night Circus but I had a hard time connecting with the characters. I think it was the way the plot kept jumping between different points in time. I find that books like those are hard to get into.

A book on your TBR that you are dying to read?

There are a lot of books on my TBR that I am dying to read as well. I literally just get so excited about books. For this one I will chose See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt. It’s a Lizzie Borden retelling. It combines a few of my favorite things: paranormal/horror stories and retellings. I only say paranormal because I believe the house that Lizzie Borden supposedly did this killings is haunted but I’m not sure about that. I keep trying to get it in Goodreads giveaways but the odds are not in my favor. Plus, I’m curious as to why there is a pigeon on the cover. Is there some sort of special meaning to it?

Number of books on your Goodreads TBR?

As of right now, at 7:15am (when I wrote this blog post), there is 340. I really did try and keep it down to the nice 150/200 level but that flew right out the window because I thought that if I had books to my TBR pile, I have a better chance of winning at the GR giveaways. I’m weird like that.

 

xxlacy

 

7 thoughts on “the tbr book tag

  1. Pingback: weekly wrap up: 08/14/17 | a ravenclaw library

Leave a Reply

