paris

to read a synopsis about this book on Goodreads, click here.


Finally, I have finished this book. I feel incredibly triumphant. I don’t think I’ve read a book this big since Roots and that was back in high school. That book was over 1000 pages and it took me about two weeks or so to finish. This, however, wasn’t a bad book, but it took a lot out of you. You had to really focus on what was going on otherwise you would miss what was going on and it would ruin the story. I made that mistake a few times and spent several chapters struggling to figure out who was who.

I had written down all the characters at one point but I had to give up that endeavour after a few chapters. This book focuses on a few main characters but it’s spread out literally over hundreds of years. I didn’t know who was going to be considered important until I was well over the halfway point. It begins in 1700s (maybe earlier) continues until the 1960s. It tells the story of Paris and how she has weathered the most harshest of what history has to offer. From the Terror to WWII, Paris has survived and even thrived under the conditions humanity has put it under.

Like I mentioned above, this is a book you have to pay attention too. It bounces between many different periods of time and between many different characters. Most of them are all related or interact with each other at some point. If you miss out on one character and their history, you are basically screwed with the rest of the story. It doesn’t help that parents insisted on naming their children the same name. That makes it very confusing.

I rated this book a bit on the low side because it just took so much effort to read. I didn’t want to really read it at times because it was so dense and I wasn’t really in the mood to focus on it. It was good though. And I learned a lot about Paris that I never knew before. If anything, this book made me want to go find some historical fiction books about Paris.

As for recommending this book, I’d say that you have to be super interested in Paris and history. I am interested in history but not Paris so much. So be prepared for that. Also be prepared this a lot of time jumping, like I mentioned above. It gets a bit confusing at times but once you whether through it, this book actually becomes an enjoyable reading and learning experience.

xxlacy

5 thoughts on “paris

Leave a Reply

