arc review: 27 hours

to read a synopsis of this book on Goodreads, click here.

I received this copy in exchange for an honest review from Entangled Teen publishing. A special thank you goes out to them! All thoughts and opinions are my own.

expected publication: october 3


Where do I even begin with this book? There were so many positives, I don’t think I could even begin to mention them all. First off, I have to shout out for all the representation in this book. I’ll discuss more what each character is but it’s so incredibly awesome that an author would find a way to organically fit in all this representation. It wasn’t forced. The characters’ sexuality wasn’t a plot twist. It felt legit and I can accept that.

This book takes place over the course of 27 hours, which is how long the night last on this planet. I don’t think I could even sleep for 27 hours no matter how tired I was. I thought this was a cool aspect though. I also really liked the reimagination of gargoyles, dragons and chimeras.

The POVs are from Rumor, who is a gay teen and is very angry. Jude, a gay teen that can see colors (almost like auras) surrounding people. Nyx, a Deaf pansexual lesbian. Braeden, an asexual teen boy. Each brought something to the table and not just their sexuality. Each character had distinct personalities and they were all incredibly likeable.

Nyx was my favorite. I simply loved this little human. She is Deaf and is not afraid to let people know that they shouldn’t be taking around her. She appreciated any and all attempts of communication, even if they didn’t know how. She didn’t freak out if they did something wrong. She loved the fact that they were trying. I think I loved that most about her. She didn’t let her Deafness hinder her. You will be seeing her on my top 10 favorite females after Hermione.

I really appreciated all the work Tristiana Wright went into helping the reader understand pansexuiality and asexuality. I’m going to be honest and say that the terms did confuse me even though I tried my hardest to understand. I now understand a little bit better. If I could have one teeny tiny complaint, it’s that I would have loved a Dahlia POV. She would have brought a little extra to the table and plus I just love her and Nyx. Overall, you really can’t go wrong by reading this book!

 

xxlacy

One thought on “arc review: 27 hours

Leave a Reply

